Let’s give Airbnb a try

I’ve always been a fan of hotels and sometimes the occasional guest house, but recently I decided to give Airbnb a try. If you don’t know what Airbnb is then here goes:

Founded in August of 2008 and based in San Francisco, California, Airbnb is a trusted community marketplace for people to list, discover, and book unique accommodations around the world — online or from a mobile phone or tablet. Whether an apartment for a night, a castle for a week, or a villa for a month, Airbnb connects people to unique travel experiences, at any price point, in more than 34,000 cities and 191 countries. And with world-class customer service and a growing community of users, Airbnb is the easiest way for people to monetize their extra space and showcase it to an audience of millions.

So now that the introductions are out of the way, let me tell you about my experience. I booked my weekend getaway to Hermanus using the mobile app on my smartphone. It was a quick and easy process with a very simple booking. Viewing the images of the house as well as reading the reviews made the decision such a pleasure. I must admit, I always assumed that Airbnb was about booking a room in someones home (which is what put me off for so long). But I was surprised to find out that you could book entire homes as well.

I stayed at this amazing holiday home along the Bot River. It was perfect for a weekend break from Cape Town and oozed luxury. Here’s some pics! Join Airbnb and get travel credit towards your next holiday.

 

Let us know whats on your mind